ORC Week 3 — What I Like to Call, Shop ‘Till Ya Drop Week (I Love This Week)

Okay, it’s Friday and surprise, surprise I’m late to the game again!  I cannot believe that we are at the half-way point of the One Room Challenge and I’m not sure I have much to show for it!  I can tell you what I did do for it this week…shop!

It started last Saturday morning, when I was scrolling through estate sale sights online and saw a picture that sent me running over a couple of towns to snag this bench:

DSC_0174Now I need to figure out what color to paint it and what fabric to use for a cushion…

Then if you follow me on Instagram you saw I hit the rainbow jackpot at Home Goods where I filled a cart full of happiness.

IMG_8021I still need some more pillows, but I love these blue sweater ones for texture.

I did not luck out in the rug department, so I headed online to order these babies:

fam rm rugsThe blue trellis pattern is for the television area and I scored it on Rugs USA.  It’s wool and was 70% off…ummm okay!  And the round braided jute rug from Bellacor is for under the game table.

My favorite find so far is this fully functioning circa-1940’s carnival wheel that I want to install on the wall by the game table.  I think it’s the perfect piece of art for that wall.

IMG_4494And I was even happier with my purchase when I saw that just the wheel (without the spinning mechanism), like practically the exact same one, just sold on a 1stdibs.com for $1,200!!!!

So that’s where I’m at right now.  Still looking for woven blinds to fit my tricky windows and I have to figure out the best way to stuff deflated couch cushions.  My two main objectives this week are to figure out the best art gallery for the television wall and to decide and act on what to do with my vintage sideboard find.  Maybe you can help with the latter…  Here’s what I’m talking about.

DSC_0171

I scored this baby awhile back from Craigslist and it’s perfect for the space and holds all of our games.  I don’t mind the wood, but definitely want to paint or change out the hardware.  But there is a lot of brown in the game area and I kinda want to get funky and paint this like a glossy navy with brass hardware.  Please, any thoughts????
DSC_0172So I must leave you now in search of more goodies, but speaking of which let me leave you with an oldie but a goodie.  The kids and I used to have Friday morning dance parties to this song back in the day (before some of them were cranky morning teenagers).  I think I need to bring back the dance party.  And if this adorable guy’s sign language version doesn’t make you smile and dance this Friday, I’m not sure what will…

And don’t forget to check out all the other amazing One Room Challenge talent HERE and HERE.

Peace out and Happy Friday!!

Thanks for stopping by! – kate

4 thoughts on “ORC Week 3 — What I Like to Call, Shop ‘Till Ya Drop Week (I Love This Week)

  1. Pingback: One Room Challenge Family Room Finale | willow interiors

Leave a Reply

