ORC — Finale — Michael’s Teenage Room

michael's-room-willow-interiors

We’ve made it!!!  We are finished…finito…I quit!!  🙂

Okay a quick recap because I know you are all here for the finished photos.  This has been my third One Room Challenge, the brain child of the brilliant Linda from Calling It Home.  It is a 6-week kick in the rear…and exactly what I needed to get Michael’s room done.   To see the step by step chaos of each week, here you go:

Week 1: We were inspired
Week 2: We finally made a plan
Week 3: We paint, and paint, and paint
Week 4: We are overcome with a sinus-filled head cold, procrastination and indecision
Week 5: We finally start the industrial shelving and make some big decisions

So here we are Week 6.  I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking, but here’s a little reminder of Michael’s baby blue pirate room, invaded with Anna’s old desk and Michael’s musical gear.

The plan was a little bit rock and roll and a little bit country (to represent his love of fishing).

willow-interiors    willow-interiors
The plan was a little bit rock and roll and a little bit country (to represent his love of fishing).

michael's-room-willow-interiorsThe paint took forever!  There was a ton of prep work and then I had an idea to paint the doors and window glossy black.  The paint comes across as 20 different colors in these photos, but it is Benjamin Moore Revere Pewter (HC-172) and I love this warm gray.

michael's-room-willow-interiors

michael's-room-willow-interiorsI love how the doors turned out and Michael’s fishing map is in it’s prominent location under the dresser.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsOn the dresser are some of Michael’s books, a vintage brass cannon and a small oil painting.

 

michael's-room-willow-interiorsI added lighting throughout the room because it only has one north-facing window and a wall sconce when you enter.  This side of the dresser has picture (in a Target frame) of one of Michael’s many catches, a little brass man full of guitar picks and a Michael original sculpture.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsMy favorite part of the room has to be this whole wall!  I am beyond pumped that I was able to build this wall of industrial shelving with a small writing area!  I have to count up my receipts, but I’m pretty sure I spent around $200 for the whole thing!  I was inspired by this shelving created by Traci from Beneath My Heart and decided to take a crack at it.  I hope to do a more in-depth post down the road, but let’s take a quick look at some of my favorite views.

 

michael's-room-willow-interiorsI love that our Harry Potter collection is so well loved!  And yes at 12, Michael already has a collection of bow-ties.

michael's-room-willow-interiors
Michael’s electric guitar got a fancy new wall hook.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsThe salt rock lamp and agate bookend are both from HomeGoods and the three monkeys sculpture (see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil) I found on One Kings Lane ages ago and have been holding it for this room.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsThe lighting in the guitar corner are three IKEA cords, paired with Edison bulbs and these cages that I found on Amazon.  I found the funky exposed bulb lamp on the writing area at HomeGoods and I felt it worked perfect with the pipe shelving.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsThe writing area is the perfect small perch because Michael wanted to preserve as much floor space as possible (I guess he cares more about hanging out with friends then a proper place for homework).  🙂

michael's-room-willow-interiors
The paperweight, wooden pencils and leather journal are from HomeGoods and the tiny George Washington bust was my husband’s when he was young.  The crocodiles on the sill are a small part of Michael’s collection. (Or are they alligators?  Don’t ask me??)
michael's-room-willow-interiors
The bamboo roman shade is from Overstock (one of my favorite sources for woven blinds…secret’s out).  I purposefully left in unlined because this room is so dark my teenager would never get up…

My favorite hardware store hooked me up with small brass screw hooks and I rigged these shadow boxes with Michael’s collection of Harry Potter wands.  Now he can easily take them in and out.

 

michael's-room-willow-interiors

michael's-room-willow-interiors

That leaves the art wall and Michael’s bed.

michael's-room-willow-interiors

I mentioned my art sources last week and the set of black mirrors I bought years ago from One Kings Lane and thought they were perfect for a boy’s room (and they reflect more light which is crucial for this room).  The eagle convex mirror and Celtic cross are vintage finds.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsThe light over Michael’s bed is an IKEA pendant and the painting is a vintage find.

michael's-room-willow-interiorsThe rock black and white photos are from various books and are simply taped to the wall with black electrical tape.  Easy to change out at music tastes change. 🙂
michael's-room-willow-interiors

michael's-room-willow-interiors

The bedding is a mix of Eddie Bauer fish flannet sheets, black, gray and blue flannel sheets, Lands End Navy fleece blanket, Target Threshold Sweater blanket and Urban Outfitters whale pillow.

 

michael's-room-willow-interiors

And finally is my nightstand that was a chest I added casters to.  My two bow-tie prints I mentioned last week didn’t make it on time, so I just printed out place holders.  The real ones will look so much better.

So that’s a wrap folks!  This has been exhausting and fun and I have officially given all three of my children a ORC bedroom makeover.  Maybe I’ll do our room next time!

kevin's-room-willow-interiors          DSC_0130  Kevin’s ORC Room

anna'sbed anna's bed3  Anna’s ORC Room

 

A huge shout out to my cousin, Michael Morgan for most of the above photos!!!  He is a Renaissance Man of sorts…not only is he a great photographer, he’s a student studying psychology and co-owns the Jam Shop (an amazing musical journey for kids of all ages).  Oh and in his spare time he stages and decorates with his girlfriend Lindsey!  Not sure if he sleeps…  When I started assembling the room I started panicking over capturing it well enough…so I called my man and he took the time to come over just in the nick of time!  Thanks Michael!! No wonder my Michael looks up to you so much!

Thanks so much for stopping by and now I’m off to see the other 90 rooms!!!!  You can see them over at the ORC Headquarters.  This finale lined up perfectly with the NJ Teacher’s Convention, so we are headed into the city for some fun…peace out!  – kate

 

41 thoughts on “ORC — Finale — Michael’s Teenage Room

  1. Wow!!! It looks amazing! Those shelves and the lighting in the guitar corner are awesome!! Love all the touches! What a cool room!!

  2. Wow!!!! Kate, this is amazing!!! What a seriously cool room. And you are the author of my new favorite phrase : “a little brass man full of guitar picks”. I’m going to look for a reason to use that 🙂

  3. Great job, Kate!! This turned out so well! I love the industrial shelves and the bamboo shades and the black doors all so much! Great idea about the electrical tape, too! Definitely took some notes since my son will be turning 12 next month and could use a redesigned space. 🙂

  4. what a great space for your son! i love that storage/desk wall—and how amazing that you made it for around $200! his personality is just bursting at the seams in this room. it is masculine, tailored and definitely fit for a teen!

  5. Kate, it has been so fun watching your son’s room transform over the last 6 weeks! Wow, those doors and the dresser look AMAZING! I haven’t taken the plunge of painting the doors in our house but it makes such a dramatic difference. That night stand it fab but the $200 DIY industrial shelving is something to oh an ah over! BRAVO my ORC friend on yet another fab ORC space! I know your rock n’ roll/country fan will absolutely love his new room!

  6. Yay! This came out great. I love the authentic styling. It actually looks like a boy’s room. Love the shelves, the black trim and the electrical tape to hang the prints.

  7. Kate, I’ve loved following along with you on this little six week journey! You did a great job and I bet Michael is doing back flips over his new space! So cool!!! Great job! 🙂

  8. This looks like a perfect room for a teenage boy and I am sure your son is thrilled with the space you’ve created for him. How fun that all of your kids have received ORC rooms! I definitely think your room should be up next! I did my toddler son’s room in the spring, and our master suite this fall. It feels so great to have our own space as nice as our son’s now.

  9. This is a great space! I love how it shows his personality in every detail–exactly how a kid’s room should be 🙂 That little bullfighter oil painting is so fabulous–I want one!

  10. I am such a bad follower! i looked at your photos right after you posted and forgot to comment! well, it’s all amazing!! I bet your son is thrilled to have such a great space. the mix of rustic, industrial and rock n roll is perfection! hope to see you back in the spring!

  11. Pingback: Back to Life, Back to Reality | willow interiors

  12. Kate!! I don’t know how I missed this big reveal but the room came out so great!! The bookcase wall is amazing, wow!! Also the wall color with the crisp white trim and dark accents, I’m a huge fan. What a cool room for your son, he must be thrilled, and I’m sure it’s still spotlessly clean like this right??

  13. Pingback: One Room Challenge — Week Two…Kinda Week One (Fourth Time Around this Block) | willow interiors

  14. Pingback: One Room Challenge Family Room Finale | willow interiors

Leave a Reply

