A Powder Room for the Birds

I made some changes to our half bathroom on the main level yesterday and then last night I had a dream and glanced into my future and saw this:

Bird Lady of Central Park

But I guess that’s better then ending up a cat lady:

You pet your lifeAnimal Hoarders

I’ve been hoarding birds, but thankfully only paper versions.  Now that I’ve collected enough of them I decided to add them to our main level powder room.

 powder room 1/willow interiors

This is a tight room to shoot, but it is a powder room off of our mudroom with a pocket door.

powder room2/willow interiors

Above the mirror, is my butterfly taxidermy (that freaks the kids out).  I found it while on a trip with my husband to Denver and the two birds over the mirror are from one of my local stores, Town Home and Garden, that I mentioned HERE.

powder room3/willow interiors

Over the toilet I was excited to hang my framed vintage birds.  I saw these in a consignment shop and left empty-handed.  I laid in bed that night picturing people going into the store and picking them off slowly by pairs or, horrifically, by ones!!  What a sad and lonely life for this family of birds!  So I had to go back and get them all! 🙂

powder room4/willow interiors

powder room5/willow interiors

The two long frames on either side of the sink are also consignment finds.

powder room7/willow interiors

powder room6/willow interiors

And I made the relaxed roman shade a couple of years ago with this fabric.

powder room8/willow interiors

The details in these prints are so pretty and the brass hanging rings shined up beautifully!

So, there’s my bird room.  Please be nice to me when I retire and spend my days on the park bench feeding and talking to my friends.

On a side note, we were recently telling the kids about this movie…imagine if we watched it!!  They would never use this bathroom again…hey, but then it wouldn’t get as dirty…hmmm. 🙂

The Birds (1963) Poster
Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds

Later, – kate

7 thoughts on “A Powder Room for the Birds

  1. I enjoy bird art but not the real things – my kids laugh because I have a heart attack anytime they fly close overhead (have birds on me like that Bird Lady photo would be an absolute nightmare). But they look beautiful in your bathroom! I esp. like how that set is hung on the rings.

  2. Pingback: One Room Challenge — Week Two…Kinda Week One (Fourth Time Around this Block) | willow interiors

Leave a Reply

