Anna’s Teenage No Pattern Aqua Room — Finally!

Yippee!!!  It’s done…kinda.  Thanks for your patience.  The artwork is coming but it was on my computer that needed an emergency new hard-drive.  When my computer started acting up last week, I called my computer guy.  Steve Holder (Fix My PC2), who we found over 7 years ago in the church bulletin, is not only quite versed in technology but he’s a really nice guy.  He told me that I needed to shut my computer down immediately because the hard-drive was failing!  Then he had it fixed with a new hard-drive in a couple of days.  So if your are local and need computer help give Steve a call!

So art is coming, as well as an improved closet, a built-in bookcase and huge bulletin board.

Here’s reminder of what we started with:

willow interiors

And here’s where we are at:

annas room final/willow interiors

annas room final2/willow interiors

I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking and I’ll point some of my favorite parts.

anna rm/willow interiors

When you make a right after entering her room here’s what we see.  Anna has quite a collection of nail polish so I decided to display them and get some color in the room (because there’s not enough color with those walls?).  I intended to replace the ugly original sconce, but then was leery about pulling such an old relic off the wall.  In the end I decided to gold leaf it and steal some crystals from the chandelier.  I’ve never gold leafed anything before.  It was fun and now I want to gold leaf everything.  I love the way Grandma Monroe’s jewelry chest came out painted in glossy white.

Then you move around to two windows with Anna’s new vanity in between.  Well, new to her.  I found this beauty on Facebook for $200 and painted it glossy white.  I decided to add a surprise pop of pink and pretty lined drawers inside.  Anna loves keeping her stuff organized and we mixed and matched pretty containers, old and new to keep all her pretties in line.

annas vanity/willow interiors

anna vanity/willow interiors

anna's vanity/willow interiors

The little bust holding some of Anna’s bracelets is one of my favorite vintage finds.  The lamp got a make over with some gold leafing and I sprayed the inside of the shade gold and painted the outside pink and glued on some navy pompoms.  The mirrored vanity tray holding Anna’s Taylor Swift perfume collection was my mom’s!

This corner is where I am having a handyman stop by next week and build in an Ikea bookcase so that Anna will have more room for her books and snowglobes.

anna's bookshelf/willow interiors

Then we get to my other favorite part…the bed!  If you recall, there was a window jammed in this corner and it always bothered me because this is where Anna wanted her bed.  So I came up with a plan to make a canopy to hide the window (relax, she’s got two others).

anna's bed/willow interiors

I take a sewing class, so my instructor helped me hatch a plan and here is the end result.  I bought white panels from Country Curtains and a white bed-skirt from Kohl’s and attached navy grosgrain ribbon.  The chandelier was her old white one that we sprayed gold and one of Anna’s favorite items is the furry rug from Home Decorators.  We also pulled up her old carpet.  I found the pink wire table and elephant at HomeGoods.  The elephant was originally green and I sprayed him pink.  It wasn’t right so I sprayed him white and then played around with some blue and white paint.  I love how he turned out!

I wanted to try and make an upholstered headboard.  In the end I made a quickie one that I attached to her original headboard and actually got the monogram done at the embroidery t-shirt kiosk in the mall!  We tried many different bed covers and no-pattern-girl shot them all down.  I was walking through an estate sale and saw this vintage white coverlet with raised chenille polka dots on it.  It was spotless and they sold it to me for $5!!!  I bleached it and Anna loved it.  While it is plain the texture adds something to give it interest.  I had to find one pillow with all of our three colors to tie everything together and found this at Verdi Blu, a colorful store in Glen Rock, NJ.  The pillow in the foreground was actually a pillow I made years ago when Anna first said she wanted a turquoise room.  I made it out of a robe I bought her while visiting Chinatown in San Francisco.  Once Anna decided on a turquoise this was a little too blue.  I don’t care… it’s staying in the room..deal with it. 🙂

anna'sbed/willow interiors

anna's elephant/willow interiors

So in the end, Anna and I are still speaking and we both love the room.  We’ve reused and reinvented and worked within a tight budget, but I don’t think it looks it.  I will be giving more details and updates as we add artwork and stuff.  I am completely dying to check out everyone else’s rooms in the One Room Challenge!  It has been so fun meeting other design addicts and can’t wait for the next one in the fall.  What room will I do next?  I think I’m going to get to Micheal’s room this summer.  He’s the middle child and now that I’ve done Anna’s and Kevin’s room he’s definitely going to need therapy as an adult. 🙂

kids

Thanks so much for stopping by! – kate

34 thoughts on “Anna’s Teenage No Pattern Aqua Room — Finally!

  1. So pretty! It came together so well. That roman shade is perfect. And I never would have guessed there was a window behind her bed. Well done 🙂

  2. Thank you so much mom! I love my room so much and you spent countless hours working on it for me! Thank you so much and I will try to keep it clean! Also, I will make sure to put my Harry Styles cardboard cut out right in the middle of it! 😉 -Anna is awesome

  3. Kate, it’s awesome! I’m totally loving your canopy (and have to show a pic of it to my daughter who decided to scrap the idea for her room), the refinished vanity, and all of the fun, bright accessories! I can only imagine how thrilled your daughter is!!

  4. Bravo! I love the way it turned out. My daughter would love this room, she’s been begging for blue walls. I especially like the vanity with its pink drawers. And that photo at the end is priceless! Poor guy, his room definitely should be next 😉

  5. Hi Kate! You did a great job, and I love the color you put on the wall. It’s fun, fresh, and definitely teen inspired. Your last photo is so funny, looks like you don’t have a choice for your next room. Great job.

  6. Kate I just love the grosgrain ribbon you added to the curtains and bedskirt! It really made it pop! This room is fit for a princess! So pretty great job!
    -Lauren @thisgirldecor

  7. Kate, I love what you did! The bedddddd!!! WHAT?!!! That is so awesome! The canopy is dreamy and I adore the grosgrain ribbon detail on that and the bedskirt. Also the wall color, the monogrammed headboard, the elephant, and that cool nailpolish rack – I need one of those for my daughter! I tried to repurpose a spice rack but let’s just say, it was a DIY fail. Thanks for sharing all your great ideas, I love how the room came out and hope Anna does too!!

  8. Kate — what a fantastic bedroom you’ve created for your daughter!! The beautiful, fun paint color, while perfect for a teen bedroom, wasn’t easy to balance, I’m sure, but you did it! All of that white made it work perfectly!! There are so many well thought out details you’ve incorporated here. My daughter would be VERY jealous of that nail polish collection and display. I would have come by earlier, but I’ve been in and out of town plus end of the year school activities. I’m so happy to get to see this gorgeous bedroom — job well done!!

  9. She must be in teenage heaven and from her precious comment, I see that she is…lucky daughter and mom to have one so appreciative!! Love it all!! Happy weekend ~

  10. Pingback: Red, White and Blue Decor | willow interiors

  11. Pingback: Designer Crush — Palmer Weiss | willow interiors

  12. Pingback: Let the Games Begin | willow interiors

  13. Pingback: Let’s Get This ORC Party Started! | willow interiors

  14. Pingback: ORC Week 3 — Half-Way Mark? Are You Freakin Kidding Me? | willow interiors

  15. Pingback: ORC — Finale — Michael’s Teenage Room | willow interiors

  16. Pingback: One Room Challenge Family Room Finale | willow interiors

Leave a Reply

